Read the latest campus information on coronavirus (COVID-19) here  

Publication Information

Published at the University of California for more than sixty years, California Management Review serves as a source of evidence-based research that inspires, informs, and empowers stewards of modern organizations. We disseminate ideas that engage scholars, educate students, and contribute to the practice of management.

David Vogel
First Person

“Our aim is to publish original research that is both accessible and offers new insights into the practice of management. We aim to share knowledge that challenges convention and shows a better way of doing business.”

David Vogel

California Management Review defines management broadly, with a particular focus on corporate strategy and innovation, the management of technology, and the social impact of business.

Our extensive catalog of reprints is used in university courses, executive programs, and management seminars around the world. All of our content is available across a variety of media and platforms, and is distributed in partnership with Harvard Business School Publishing, SAGE Business Publishing,, and EBSCO. During the past year, CMR's content has been accessed more than half a million times by EBSCO platform users. There were 179,000 downloads on the SAGE Journals platform, and 109,000 copies of CMR's content were distributed by Harvard Business School Publishing. Based on our five-year impact factor of 6.551, CMR is one of the most frequently cited management publications. We invite you to explore the ways in which the California Management Review can help you meet your academic and professional goals.


Volume Issue Date
62 4 Summer 2020 Previous
63 1 Fall 2020 Current
63 2 Winter 2021 Next
63 3 Spring 2021

Editorial Staff


David Vogel

Editorial Staff

Gundars Strads, Senior Editor
Kora Gonzalez, Managing Editor
Jae Park, Online Editor
David Salisbury, Publication Coordinator
Daniel Tom, Editorial Assistant

Contact Information

California Management Review
Haas School of Business
2001 Addison Street, Suite 200
Berkeley, California 94704-1996
Phone: (510) 725-7826
Fax: (510) 642-1318

Domestic Editorial Board

UC Berkeley

Homa Bahrami
Sara Beckman
Henry Chesbrough
Lee Fleming
Ganesh Iyer
Laura Kray
Don Moore
John Morgan
Nora Silver
Robert Strand
David Teece


Bhagwan Chowdhry
Charles J. Corbett
David Lewin
Marvin Lieberman
Mariko Sakakibara
Margaret Shih
Maia Young

UC Irvine

Margarethe F. Wiersema

UC Davis

Donald A. Palmer

UC Riverside

Kathleen Montgomery
Elaine Wong

University of Southern California

James O'Toole
John Boudreau

Stanford University

William Barnett
Charles O'Reilly
Jeffrey Pfeffer
Jerry Porras
Hayagreeva Rao

Harvard University

Carliss Y. Baldwin
Herman Leonard
Felix Oberholzer-Gee
Ananth Raman
Michael W. Toffel
Michael Tushman

Yale University

David Bach
Olav Sorenson

Columbia University

Garrett van Ryzin
John Walker

University of Chicago

Ram Shivakumar

University of Pennsylvania

Valentina Assenova
George S. Day

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Christian Catalini

University of Massachusetts Boston

Nardia Haigh

Northwestern University

James G. Conley

Tufts University

Alnoor Ebrahim

International Editorial Board

North America

Richard Florida - University of Toronto
Brian Silverman - University of Toronto
David Soberman - University of Toronto
Nancy J. Adler - McGill University

Leyland Pitt - Simon Fraser University
Rosalie Tung - Simon Fraser University
Michael Lounsbury - University of Alberta


Julian Birkinshaw - London Business School
Cyril Bouquet - IMD Business School
Boyd Cohen - EADA Business School
David de Cremer - Cambridge University
Alberto Di Minin - Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna
Yves Doz - INSEAD
Teppo Felin - University of Oxford
Oliver Gassmann - University of St. Gallen
Pankaj Ghemawat - IESE Business School
Michael Haenlein - ESCP Europe
Nirmalya Kumar - London Business School
Tom Lawrence - University of Oxford
Barak Libai - Herzliya University

Magnus Mähring - Stockholm School of Economics
Michael Mol - Copenhagen Business School
Thomas Powell - University of Oxford
Karthik Ramanna - University of Oxford
Deva Rangarajan - Vlerick Business School
Philip Rosenzweig - IMD Business School
Craig Smith - INSEAD
Luk N. Van Wassenhove - INSEAD
Georg von Krogh - ETH Zurich
Richard Whittington - University of Oxford
George Yip - Imperial College Business School
Christoph Zott - IESE Business School


Arnoud de Meyer - Singapore Management University
Teck Ho - National University of Singapore
B. Mahadevan - Indian Institute of Management

Yoshifumi Nakata - Doshisha University
Jaeyong Song - Seoul National University


California Management Review

Berkeley-Haas's Premier Management Journal

Published at Berkeley Haas for more than sixty years, California Management Review seeks to share knowledge that challenges convention and shows a better way of doing business.

Learn more
Follow Us